Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 20th, 2011

I know I’ve posted this fine recipe before, but this time I changed it up a tiny bit and had to re-post. Being right smack in the throws of the big entertaining season, these are great because you can easily freeze them, and then pop them in the oven at the sign of a visitor and heat at 325°F for 10-12 minutes or until lightly golden. They are also amazing stuffed with Stilton and honey, goats cheese, cream cheese, escargots, etc. I hope you try these because they are just too easy and look so ‘fancy’.

Tasty Cheese Puffs, would you like a martini or glass of wine with that?

Re heat so that the outside is a bit crispy and the inside warm and yummy

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup grated Parmesan Cheese (in this recipe I reversed the quantity of the cheeses because that’s what I had!)
  • 1/4 cup Jarlsberg

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F.
  2. Place water, butter and salt in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil over medium heat.
  3. Remove from heat and add flour, and stir until combined.
  4. Return to heat and stir cooking the flour mixture until it comes away from the sides of the pan and is a shiny ball. I find the heat of the pan is enough, I generally don’t put the flame back on.
  5. Place in a food processor with plastic blades and process for 15 seconds (give or take).
  6. Add eggs and process for 40 seconds (err on the longer side of give or take).
  7. Add both cheeses and process for another 5-10 seconds until smooth.
  8. Using a wet spoon, place thumbnail-sized spoonfuls on a parchment lined cookie sheet about 3-5 cm apart. I find lightly splashing the pan with cold water helps the puffs puff up.
  9. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until golden brown.
  10. Serve warm or room temperature.

They puff up about 12 minutes into baking but be patient, they need to bake on the inside too. They are ideal for stuffing with a pipping funnel (I bought a really cheap one from a dollar store and it works very well).

Warning: you WILL WANT one of these. Gentlemen and children, you may wish to shield your eyes. Don’t say I didn’t warn you!
Air Swimmer. If you haven’t seen them, check out this video, they are SO COOL! Thanks to Katherine and Greg for the help on how to embed a Youtube…I was so blind I completely missed how incredibly easy it is. Hope you don’t think I’m an idiot! 😉

Because we are going to my brother’s place for Christmas Eve celebrations, I wanted this totally cool present ready to excite and enjoy (OK, truth be told, we wanted to play with it!) so we put it together yesterday and LOVE it. We have the shark! It does take a bit of practice to fly it, so if you do get one, you may want to play practice some! That’s my story and I’m sticking to it!
So, dear reader, can you resist the Air Swimmer?

Read Full Post »