Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 20th, 2014

My friend, airline pilot David from the UK (Fine Dining at Home) recently posted a recipe for no knead focaccia, and I was immediately smitten (with the recipe, of course!) We’ve been making no knead bread for ever (here, here and here) and no knead pizza dough (here) but we’ve never made no knead focaccia. My focaccias have been traditional recipes that make a sponge first and then a separate dough, time consuming and complicated, albeit delicious. So when I read David’s recipe and saw the quality of his sponge and crumb (he kindly emailed me a photo) I was intrigued. Fast forward and we’re at the cottage waiting for friends to arrive and JT says “do we have a starch with dinner tonight?” OK, you must be able to read my mind by now, because I did go over the menu with him and at NO TIME did he ask that question whilst we were in the city with all the grocery stores. Please recall that we have limited resources once we leave the city. But I do stock my cottage pantry with flour and yeast so I immediately thought of dear David’s No Knead Focaccia recipe but sadly I did not have a scale and I only had All Purpose flour and 1 packet yeast, so I used King Arthur Flour’s recipe with some minor alterations. I am very pleased with the result and I urge you to try it, it’s actually quite lovely.

IMG_3931.JPG

No Knead Rosemary and Thyme Focaccia

Makes one slab about 8″x12″
Please click here for original recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups warm water
  • 1/4 cup olive oil (plus additional for drizzling)
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons salt
  • 3 1/2 cups Unbleached All-Purpose Flour
  • 1 tbsp instant yeast
  • 1 tbsp milk powder
  • 2 tbsp each, finely chopped rosemary and thyme

Directions:

  1. Spray a 9″ x 13″ pan with cooking spray or EVOO and drizzle an additional 1 to 2 tablespoons of EVOO on the bottom.
  2. Combine all of the ingredients and mix vigorously with a wooden spoon until entirely combined. The dough should appear loose and shaggy.
  3. Allow to rest in a warm dark place for about an hour or until doubled in size.
  4. When doubled, pour the dough into your prepared pan and spread it out as evenly as you can. Let rest 30 minutes.
  5. Preheat the oven to 375°F. After dough has rested, bake for 30 minutes or until golden. Allow to cool slightly before slicing into it.

IMG_3930.JPG

Read Full Post »