Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 12th, 2012

My friend Kelly, from Inspired Edibles (an Ontario girl!) inspired me with her wonderful Flourless Salmon Dill Bites for breakfast this past Good Friday morning; thank you Kelly.

I had a bit of the smoked salmon mousse left over from the appi’s I put together on Thursday for cocktails and instead of tossing it, I used it as a base for this tasty egg dish. Kelly, I hope you don’t mind, but I changed the recipe a bit as JT and I don’t need the calories that your growing boys need.

Beating the egg whites adds just the fluffiness you need for a filling breakfast while watching your girlish figure!

Smoked Salmon Breakfast Egg Puffs

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup egg whites
  • 1/4 cup non fat Greek yogurt
  • 4 tbsp smoked salmon mousse (you don’t need to add this if you don’t have it, I was just using it up)
  • 2 slices of smoked salmon, roughly chopped
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1 tsp dill
  • salt

Directions:

  1. Pre heat oven to 350°F.
  2. Add whole egg, yogurt, smoked salmon mousse, smoked salmon, onion and dill into a bowl and whisk until well mixed. Set aside.
  3. Whip egg whites until stiff peaks form but not dry. Fold into egg mixture.
  4. Prepare 200 mL ramekins with non-stick spray and pour the egg mixture evenly into each ramekin, leaving about 2 cm of space at the top (you need this because they puff up like a souflée) Bake for about 20-25 minutes, top should be golden and the insides should test clean with a cake tester. Serve immediately (or after photo) on a bed of baby arugula dressed with a drizzle of balsamic and garnished with something red (tomatoes would have been perfect, but I didn’t have any so I used diced red peppers)

Read Full Post »