Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 11th, 2016

ChocolateCherryBrownies_1

As I was recently cleaning out my freezer, I discovered I had some cherry pie filling likely left over from a shoot or test because frankly, I would not buy the stuff myself! Being one who does not like to discard food I came up with this chocolate cherry brownie recipe. It’s moist, very chocolatey and surprises you with the odd cherry. I cut them into 2.5 cm (1 inch) cubes so you could have more of them, but you may cut them into the larger, traditional brownie shapes and have fewer or more, who am I to judge.

ChocolateCherryBrownies

Chocolate Cherry Brownies

A KitchenInspirations Original Recipe

Makes 1 pan 23 cm X 23 cm (9″ x 9″) about 2.5 cm (1″) thick.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup icing sugar
  • 5 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 45 g semi-sweet chocolate
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 cup cherry pie filling
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 egg whites, lightly beaten

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 350 °F.
  2. Sift flour, icing sugar, cocoa powder and baking powder.
  3. Combine the brown sugar and chocolate chips and slowly melt the chocolate, add vanilla and mix well.
  4. Beat in the egg whites (if the liquid is still hot, temper them so you don’t get scrambled eggs!)
  5. Add dry ingredients and stir well.
  6. Pour into a prepared 23 cm X 23 cm (9″ x 9″) pan lined with parchment paper. Bake for 30-35 minutes until firm and tester comes out clean.
ChocCherryBrowniesNutrition

Per single 2.5 cm cube brownie.

OK, I lied. Full disclosure: I really came up with this recipe so that I could use my adorable, new petite sweet stand (using up the cherry pie filling was just a bonus!). Isn’t it gorgeous? Cue JT’s famous Eye Roll.

Read Full Post »