Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 18th, 2012

My friend Sawsan of Chef in Disguise made this bread last week and as soon as I saw it, I knew I HAD to make it. I’m still doing the no carb, sugar, blah, blah, blah diet, but my Mom’s husband was coming down for a visit and I wanted to make a special breakfast of home-made bread for him. The loaves turned out beautifully, light, a good crumb, great texture (just a little chewy, like egg bread) and quite sesame-ish. I followed Sawsan’s recipe and I didn’t half or even quarter it and I am sure glad I didn’t. I LOVED it. And I will make it again. Thank you kindly Sawsan, for the glorious recipe, I likely would have never found on my own. One little round was plenty for dinner for two people.

Gorgeous round loaves

Sesame Bread (from Sawsan, Chef in Disguise)

Ingredients:

  • 3 to 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (I actually found I needed about 4 1/2 cups, but it was rather humid the day I made it)
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 tbsp powdered milk
  • 3/4 cup warm water (it should feel slightly warm to the touch not hot)
  • 1 tsp vinegar
  • 1 tbsp yeast
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt (this was increased from 1/4 tsp because it just wasn’t enough 2016/03/15)

For the topping:

  • 1 egg white beaten (I had the same concern as Sawsan, and I didn’t want it to taste eggy, so I just used the white)
  • 1 teaspoon vinegar
  • sesame seeds (about a cup)

Directions:

  1. Combine the yeast, sugar and 3/4 cup water, stir gently and allow to bubble up and foam (if it doesn’t you need to discard it and start over with new yeast).
  2. In the bowl of your stand mixer add the flour, salt ,powdered milk, eggs and vinegar. Rub the eggs into the flour with your finger tips and switch to a dough hook to incorporate completely.
  3. Add the yeast water mixture and knead the dough for 10 minutes untill you get a smooth slightly sticky dough (you may or may not need to add more water depending on the type of flour you use).
  4. Place the dough in a slightly oiled bowl, cover it and allow it to rise in a warm place till it doubles in size (this only takes about 45 minutes).
  5. Divide the dough into 4 equal parts. Roll out each part into a rectangle thin rectangle Sawsan has excellent photos showing what your bread should look like.
  6. Pre-heat your oven to 500°F.
  7. Begin by rolling the dough tightly on the long end, bring the two ends together and pinch to seal. Pinch the seam along the edge as well so it doesn’t unravel. Coat with the vinegar, egg wash and then entirely cover in sesame seeds (I used black and white ones). Complete the remaining dough the same way. Allow to rest about 20 minutes.
  8. Bake for 5-7 minutes on the high heat, then reduce to 400°F and bake for another 7-10 minutes or until the bottom is golden.
  9. Serve with fresh preserves and unsalted butter. JT even used the wedges to sop up the gravy from the Bœuff Bourguignon he made for dinner on Saturday night.

They turned out to be about 20 cm in diametre. We sliced them in triangles like cheese.

Read Full Post »