Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 10th, 2017

In early April, my dear friend from University invited me to spend a few days at her second home in southwestern Florida. I did a lot of the cooking because I enjoy doing so and she just loves my creations. I whipped up a batch of the zucchini wraps that JT and I often have, because I thought she might enjoy this calorie reduced, gluten free deviation and I was right. I knew I had to share the recipe and spread the love. It’s a cross between a crêpe and a wrap but it is sturdy enough to hold in your hand and fill with whatever your heart desires. I’ve tried the cauliflower version and to be honest, I did not find them satisfying nor were they sturdy enough to hold the filling. We have these at least once a week, I hope you will give them a try.

Zucchini Wraps

Updated March 19, 2019

A KitchenInspirations Original Recipe

Makes 6 wraps 15 cm (6-inch) diametre (they shrink quite a bit)

ZucchiniWraps Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 400 g (4 cups) raw zucchini, grated
  • Salt for osmosis
  • 30 g (1/4 cup) coconut flour
  • 5 g (1/2 tsp) sea salt
  • 125 mL (1/2 cup) egg whites, lightly whisked
  • Non-stick spray

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 200° C (400° F).
  2. Grate the zucchini and salt generously in a bowl to remove excess liquid. Allow to sit for about 30 minutes.
  3. Rince zucchini well and squeeze out as much liquid as possible, return to a clean, dry bowl.
  4. Combine the grated zucchini with the coconut flour and toss until evenly coated. Add the salt.
  5. Pour the egg whites over the zucchini and mix well. Allow to stand for 5 minutes.
  6. Line a baking sheet with parchment (I have only tested this recipe with parchment, not Silpat or any other silicon matt). Spray well with non-stick spray.
  7. Tightly fill an 80 mL (1/3 cup) measuring cup with the zucchini mixture. Turn out onto the prepared parchment and using the back of a fork, spread out the zucchini to make a 20 cm (8-inch) diameter pancake, the same thickness throughout (they will shrink to about 15 cm (6-inch)).
  8. Bake for 30 minutes or until golden along the edges, carefully flipping about halfway through. Spray lightly with non-stick spray before you flip.

Notes:

  • You may flavour the zucchini wraps with herbs or spices but I prefer to keep mine relatively simple so that the filling can do all the flavouring. We usually have these as fish tacos or chicken fajitas.
  • The zucchini wraps do shrink quite a bit as they bake so make sure you make them large enough to hold the filling of your choice.
  • Spraying the parchment is necessary because, without it, they really stick to the parchment.

Nutrtional Facts for 1 Shell

Weight Watchers Points

Read Full Post »