Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 22nd, 2019

You may have noticed that I missed a post last week, I am sorry but things came to a head as the renovation is slowly completing. We have moved in but there are still a few minor things that need finishing and our Contractor is doing relatively well to get them done, at a snail’s pace! Of course, everyone will say that but we are tired. I’d like to get all my clothes into the new closet and wall units. Get’er done, as they say!

Light, cheesy, delicious with a touch of sweet corn.

I saw this awesome recipe in the LCBO’s latest Food and Drink and I really wanted to make it. We invited my SIL over for lunch to show her the reno and what perfect opportunity to make a fancy Al Fresco lunch. I already had everything in my pantry, even the BBQ’d corn kernels (they were in the freezer) and it was so easy. This one was actually my test run and it turned out very well. I think the only thing I’d change is to add a little crispy bacon because who doesn’t love bacon!

Sweet Corn and Gruyère Soufflé

For the original recipe, please click here.

Makes 500 mL of soufflé batter, I used 2x 250 mL ramekins for this shot.

Ingredients:

  • 15 g unsalted butter, plus extra for greasing ramekins
  • 4 g Parmesan, finely grated
  • 60 g cooked sweet corn kernels
  • 60 g bacon, crispy
  • 30 g Gruyère, grated
  • 6 g finely chopped chives (about 1 bunch)
  • 6 g flour
  • 95 mL milk
  • 2 large eggs, separated
  • pinch salt (I forgot this and JT wasn’t the wiser, cheese has a lot of salt and so does Dijon, so be careful)
  • 30 g Dijon mustard

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400° F. Butter the ramekins and sprinkle the parmesan into it to coat the sides and bottom, knock out excess (save to sprinkle on top). Set aside.
  2. Combine the corn, gruyère and chives and mix well. Set aside.
  3. Melt the butter over low heat and add the flour, whisking until it is lightly toasted. Drizzle in the milk while whisking and cook for 2 minutes to create a smooth sauce. Add the salt.
  4. Remove from the heat and add the egg yolks and Dijon mustard and whisk until smooth.
  5. Pour the hot liquid into the corn mixture and mix well.
  6. Beat the egg whites until stiff and fold about 1/3 into the corn mixture to loosen. Fold in the remainder evenly.
  7. Pour into the prepared ramekins and smooth out the top with an offset spatula (I did not do the latter on first try). Bake in a hot oven for 30-35 minutes or until nicely risen and golden. Serve immediately.

Pull up a chair and dig in.

Read Full Post »