Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 6th, 2012

Many of you have been doing a year in review with the most popular posts and I was thinking all week about doing the same. In reflecting on this data and going back through my blog, I again realize how much your visits/comments mean to me. Thank you everyone for your kind words and your encouragement, you have certainly enriched my blog experience more than you can know. I did do a review post last year, but showed only b-o-r-i-n-g stats, so this year, I am going to learn a lesson from my fellow bloggers and review my fourth year of blogging with more interesting things, like photos; I may have to interject some stats too…:-)

This blog received an ‘amazing’ 20,000 hits in 2011 (WordPress said it was ‘amazing’!) which apparently is 7 sold-out performances in the Sydney Opera House! I did a total of 141 posts with 423 photos! The busiest day of the year on this blog was September 17th with 301 views; the most popular post that day was TIFF and a test Moroccan Dessert Sellou (Sfouf). I think it was because George Clooney was in Toronto and everyone was searching TIFF!

It seems that these photos were the most popular in 2011 (even though they were from past posts), I’ll bore you with only four of them (note that some of the photos were taken with a Nikon Cool Pix, not an SLR)!:

The Best Flourless Chocolate Cake

#1 Molten Chocolate Cake by Michael Smith

Tomato and Fresh Mozzarella Salad

#2 Tomato and Mozzarella Salad

Hungarian Cheese Sticks (Sajtos Rúd)

#3 Hungarian Cheese Sticks (Sajos Rud)

Old Fashioned Date Filled Oatmeal Cookies

#4 Old Fashioned Date Filled Oatmeal Cookies

My favourite photos from 2011 are :
Anzac Biscuits

Chewy and not as sweet as you would think

The Moroccan Dessert Trio

From left to right: Coconut Lemon Cake, Fig Tart and Sellou

Cheddar, Green Onion and Prosciutto Scones

Cheddar, Green Onion and Prosciutto Scones

Cauliflower and Celeriac Mashed “potatoes”

Celeriac Cauliflower Mash

I usually don’t make resolutions, but this year I decided I would use fewer plastic zip lock bags. We’ve gone almost bagless, using reusable bags for everything else, even when I buy shoes, so why not ziplocks too? Wish me luck!

And with that, I bid you good day. I hope you enjoyed this little trip down memory lane as much as I did.

PS, I only really learned how to use my SLR this year; my previous photos really sucked!

Read Full Post »