Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 18th, 2012

I’m a bit grumpy today :-(. It’s not because it’s Wednesday, or that it rained ALL day, or that it’s STILL winter, or that we’re NOT drinking wine during the week (or other libations, in effort to be healthier) — no, it’s because I have been called, YET AGAIN, my FOURTH TIME to jury duty. Few Canadians are bestowed with this honour (read extreme sarcasm here). In fact, my 87 year old father-in-law has NEVER been called, nor had his 75 year old wife (who sadly passed away many years ago), nor had either of my parents (both deceased), brother, brother -in-law, sister-in-laws, or for that matter, any of my friends. JT was called, twice! FOURTH FOR ME. Why ME? The second time I was called was about 2 months after the first time so I was excused (why can’t I be this lucky in the lotto? Hmmmm? WHY?). The third time I was simply warned that I may be called, thank goodness it never happened. And now it is the real deal, again. February 15. I am to show up at 8:30 at the main courthouse downtown. There is nothing even remotely interesting down there. Oh god, I hope they have WIFI so I can blog about it (you are allowed to do that, aren’t you?) Rest assured I’ll be texting all my friends and emailing; you really don’t want me bored, do you? I guess I can read. I hope there is no weird-o, freak-job case on the docket this time — last time I was spared a week away from serving on the Bernardo jury (I don’t think I could have stomached that). I wonder if they will let me off, after all, I am one of two people in a two person company? Bleh. Sorry about all the caps, I’m really grumpy.

A quick update that I received a questionnaire on September 23, 2014 to see if I am eligible AGAIN, DAMN, DAMN, DAMN! I’m hoping that my current employment status will eliminate my requirement.

We were invited to a brunch this past weekend and were asked to bring nothing! Nothing? I am not one to show up empty handed so I made chewy chocolate brownies. There will be a whole mess of kids there so the sugary, chocolatey squares will certainly be appreciated, even hours after we’ve bid our fair wells!!! 😉 Good thing I made dessert, because another guest brought 4 of them! Yup, we had a lot of delicious food. JT and I didn’t even have dinner (well, unless you call the saganaki we experimented with, I wish I had taken a photo).

I left out nuts as I am unsure if there are any allergies, but go ahead and add them, if you choose. What’s interesting about this recipe is the absence of large quantity of fat, in fact, most of the calories are derived from the variety of sugars used in the concoction; but fear not, they are moist and chewy and not as tooth numbingly sweet as you might think. The original recipe came from the Toronto Star about 20 years ago, and approved by the Heart and Stroke Foundation at that time.

Oh, and don’t forget to enter the giveaway! The entries are pouring in, some more correct than others ;-). I noticed that some of you questioned a particular year, and yes, that was a trick question. I hope you can get all 5 entries to make it a real challenge. I can hardly wait to make the grand prize draw for a very lucky winner!

Chewy and chocolatey brownies. A treat for all ages.

Would you care for coffee or tea with that? or maybe an Irish Cream over ice?

Chewy Chocolate Brownies

Makes about 20 brownies (or make them in mini muffin pans for a smaller, bite-sized treat)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup icing sugar
  • 4 1/2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 oz (45g) semisweet chocolate chips
  • 3 tbsp butter or margarine
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp light corn syrup
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 egg whites

Directions:

  1. Sift flour, icing sugar, cocoa powder and baking powder.
  2. Melt butter or margarine with brown sugar and chocolate chips, add vanilla, corn syrup and water.
  3. Beat in the egg whites (if the liquid is still hot, temper them so you don’t get scrambled eggs!)
  4. Add dry ingredients and stir well.
  5. Pour into a prepared 9″ x 9″ pan, or mini muffin tins (I generally just use Pam in the muffin tins or line the pan with parchment paper). Bake for 20-25 minutes until firm (10-12 minutes for the mini muffin tins). You can also bake these in mini muffin cups, like I did in 2008!
  6. Option to frost with a butter icing, but not necessary as this brownie is very moist and flavourful.

Read Full Post »