Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 27th, 2012

The other day I was watching Jamie’s 30 minute meals (hey, I was on the elliptical doing a 30 minute cardo routine!!!) and saw a short part of a Celeriac Remoulade (it’s a mayo-type dressing) that I knew I would have to make for dinner. It turned out to be only an inspiration due to ingredients on hand but after searching the web, I came across Laura Calders Celeriac Remoulade, which resembled my salad a lot more (really, I only spotted it after I made mine for dinner the other night, really!)

It was already dark out, that's why the photo sucks! 🙂

One of the things that caught my eye in Jamie’s recipe was the prosciutto, but I completely forgot to add it in the end so we just had it plain :-(. I have to admit, I did not love the dressing and if I were to do this again (very likely as I adore raw celeriac) I would alternate the dressing to something else…I thought it was a bit too acidic not enough balance, but I really did love the contrast of the smooth Dijon to the Grainy Dijon (maybe all I needed was to add a touch of honey, since my granny smith was not as sweet as Jamie’s pear?).

Celeriac Remoulade

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 to 1/2 of a celeriac, cleaned, peeled and julienned (I have a wonderful julienne grater that makes this so easy)
  • 1 granny smith apple, washed but not peeled and julienned (the green of the peel adds a lovely light, fresh colour)
  • a handful of chopped flat leaf parsley

Dressing:

  • 2 tbsp Dijon Mustard
  • 2 tbsp grainy Dijon Mustard
  • 2 tbsp white wine or champagne vinegar
  • 4-6 tbsp EVOO
  • 1-2 pinches of flaked hot peppers

Directions:

  1. Mix the celeriac, apple and parsley together well and toss with the dressing.
  2. Enjoy.
  3. If you plan to have this on more than one day, I would only dress what I am eating now, so that it doesn’t get all soggy!

Read Full Post »