Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 3rd, 2012

We had a very good friend and her hubby over for brunch during the holidays; she is gluten intolerant so I like to make things she can easily enjoy, AND I don’t like to make two of everything so whatever I cook/bake has to be delicious enough that her husband can’t tell the difference ;-)! My good blogger friends Kristy and Mike at Our Family Food Adventures made a raspberry tart the other day, and it looked absolutely wonderful, so I went about the internet to find a gluten free pie pastry. I made a few alterations in the filling recipe to make it gluten free and a smaller tart size. Sadly the GF crust recipe I used was not the best so I won’t list the recipe, but I used this one, cutting it in half for the smaller tart pan!

The pastry in our little tester up front turned out a very hard and leathery, I would probably suggest a bit more butter in the pastry or a different recipe!

Do you like my tart server? Why yes, it is a shoe, thank you for noticing!

The raspberries were a little tart, so adjust your sugar accordingly

Raspberry Filling Ingredients:

  • 3 c raspberries (I used frozen)
  • 1/3 c sugar
  • 1/3 c tapioca starch
  • 2 tbsp non-fat Greek Yogurt
  • 1 tsp butter
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Raspberry Filling Directions:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 375°F.
  2. Defrost the raspberries.
  3. Sprinkle with the 1/3 cup sugar and 1/3 cup tapioca starch, mix well.
  4. Add the Greek yogurt and mix. Set aside.
  5. Combine the 1 tbsp sugar with the cinnamon.
  6. Rub the butter on the bottom of the tart pastry until it is completely used up. Sprinkle with the cinnamon sugar.
  7. Pour the raspberry filling into the tart pan and bake for 40-45 minutes or until the crust is lightly golden and the filling has set.
  8. Allow to cool. Serve cold or at room temperature.

I added a heap of fresh raspberries on the day I served it

Read Full Post »