Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 27th, 2013

When I wrote this post in early June, it was supposed to be summer in Toronto but the temperatures had not been warm to say the least and we’ve had to turn the heat on or have had a fire in our wood burning fireplace a few more times than I would have liked in June, but being a Canadian just means we buckle down and bear it; I refused to stop wearing my open toe shoes and sandals and I’m cooking like it’s summer. But now, the high humidity has rolled in and lots of rain and thunder, so this is a perfect little refresher particularly when it’s dark and drizzly outside.

We had my best friend from University Kim and her hubby here for a brunch the other week and I wanted to make a chilled soup with lots of colour so I did what I normally do, I Googled it. Up came the New York Times 12 cold soups and I was immediately smitten! I loved the layout of this spread, the colours and the variety if soups. I settled on the Chilled Watermelon Gazpacho because the combination of ingredients really called out to me — so fresh and clean and the colour is gorgeous. Do check out the link because you too will be impressed; I know I will be inspired to make a few of these beauties over the summer months. I would suggest you make extra and freeze it, it makes a gorgeous little amuse bouche for your next dinner party, served in little shot glasses.

The original recipe can be found here, but of course I had to change it up a wee bit. Thanks to Kelly at Inspired Edibles for putting me onto Pineapple Sage, I found it at my garden centre and immediately bought a plant for my patio and I was inspired to add a few leaves to this delicious soup.

WatermelonGazpacho_0221

This soup is AWESOME!

Chilled Watermelon Gazpacho

Makes 500 mL give or take (100 mL each of four servings with 100 mL to freeze for another dinner party)

Soup Ingredients:

  • 700 g seedless watermelon, cubed
  • 200 g seedless cucumber, peeled and cubed
  • 150 mL (1/2 cup) seedless, skinless tomato purée
  • few leaves of lemon mint
  • 1 large mint leaf
  • 2 large pineapple sage leaves
  • 1/3 up lime cordial (or just use lime juice if your watermelon is super sweet, ours was not)
  • splash of lime juice

Salsa Ingredients:

  • 150 g finely cubed seedless watermelon
  • 60 g finely cubed seedless cucumber
  • 50 g finely cubed celery
  • 4-6 tbsp crumbled sheeps milk feta
  • 1 mint leaf, fine julienne
  • 2 pineapple sage leaves, fine julienne

Directions:

  1. Put all the soup ingredients into a large bowl and purée with your immersion blender until you get a smooth thick soup. Strain through a fine sieve.
  2. Refrigerate overnight so flavours can build.
  3. Combine the finely cubed salsa ingredients and toss with the herbs of herbs.
  4. Serve in chilled rimed soup bowls, garnish with a spoonful or two of the salsa.
WatermelonGazpacho_0217

The bright colour of the soup tells the story of the flavour

WatermelonGazpacho_0218

A refreshing combination of flavours

We had one gorgeous day and then it turned cold and rainy again.

We had one gorgeous day and then it turned cold and rainy again.

Read Full Post »